Apr 24, 2024
Olivia Boudreau

Assumption University Students Recognized for Academic Excellence at 40th Annual Honors Convocation

On April 15, 78 Assumption students were recognized with awards at the 40th Annual Honors Convocation. Students were presented with Augustine Scholarships, Departmental Major Awards, Special Awards and Scholarships, and the Donec Formetur Christus Presidential Award during the evening. Winners of each of these distinguished awards can be found listed below. 

President Greg Weiner gave an opening address at the Honors Convocation, speaking about the important lessons learned and the experience gained through an Assumption education, which has been exemplified by those who were awarded. 

“My hope for you today, as you receive this well-deserved recognition of your academic achievements, is a lifetime of challenge. Of challenging yourselves. Of challenging others. Of challenging ideas and letting ideas challenge you,” said Weiner in his address. “That is the heart of an Assumption education: the pursuit of truth in the company of friends. Why in the company of friends as opposed to solitary contemplation? Because none of us can attain the truth alone. And friends help each other through both encouragement and challenge.”

Augustine Scholarship

Augustine scholars are students chosen by faculty, staff, and administration that exemplify the Assumption mission. These students are rising juniors and seniors.

Class of 2025 Augustine Scholars

Abigail Block
Talia Caloggero
Alexis Demko
Paige Gillette
Mary Kate Hamilton
Evelyn Humphries
Teagan Kamm
Kaitlin Merson
Anna Murphy
Ngoc Nguyen
Danny Portillo
Gabriela Vargas

Class of 2026 Augustine Scholars

Shekinah Kanamugire
Thomas Foley
Kyle Lee
Madeline Snow
Charles White

Departmental Major Awards

Chosen by faculty from each of the named departments, students who are awarded Departmental Major Awards are among the most meritorious in each major program of study.

Award in Accounting – Camron Roberts

Award in Actuarial Science – Alexandra Rippstein

Award in Biology – Caroline O’Connell (pictured in header photo)

Award in Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience and Behavior – Kate Famiglietti

Award in Biology with a Concentration in Pre-Clinical Health Professions – Christina Jandrow

Award in Biotechnology and Molecular Biology – Rebecca Craine

Award in Communication and Media – Maureen Lynch

Award in Criminology – Fiorela Cruz-Rivera

Award in Computer Science – Gaven Cannon

Award in Cybersecurity – Brianna Michael

Award in Data Analytics – John Davis

Award in Economics – Tyler Provost

Award in Economics with a Business Concentration – Chloe Callahan

Award in Elementary Education – Taylor Cirone

Award in Middle and Secondary Education – Maria Lepak

Award in English – Kaleigh Chesley

Award in Environmental Science – William Roberts 

Award in Finance – Davis Preston

Award in Global Studies – Megan O’Meara

Award in Graphic Design – Bridgette Kline

Award in Health Sciences – Isabella Pizzi

Award in Health Sciences with a Concentration in Pre-Physical Therapy – Brandi Montoya

Award in History – Maria Lepak

Award in Human Services and Rehabilitation Studies – Elizabeth Cappelli

Award in Human Services and Rehabilitation Studies with a Concentration in Working with Children and Adolescents in a Community Setting – Jordyn Condon 

Award in Human Services and Rehabilitation Studies with a Concentration in Communication Sciences and Disorders – Leah Yekelchik 

Award in Human Services and Rehabilitation Studies with a Concentration in Pre-Occupational Therapy – Casey Powers

Award in International Business – Chloe Callahan 

Award in Management – Katherine Ickes 

Award in Marketing – Taylor Shea

Award in Marketing with a Concentration in Digital Marketing – Lauren Corsini 

Award in Marketing with a Concentration in Sales – Emy Novoa

Award in Mathematics – Emily Fasteson 

Award in Music – Brenna Aylward

Award in Neuroscience with a Cellular Path – Hailey McKillop 

Award in Nursing – Ashley Kuropatkin

Award in Organizational Communication – Rachel McDonagh

Award in Philosophy – Sam Baker

Award in Political Science – Noah Laren

Award in Psychology – Sarah Abraham

Award in Psychology with a Concentration in Mental Health and Pre-Clinical Counseling – Ryan Singley

Award in Psychology with a Concentration in Child and Adolescent Development – Shaeleigh Boynton 

Award in Psychology with a Concentration in Neuroscience of Human Behavior – Ryan Berthiaume

Award in Sociology – Brianna Catino

Award in Spanish – Megan Canney

Award in Theology – Emily Fasteson

Special Awards and Scholarships

The Ray Marion Award – Emily Fasteson and Emy Novoa

The Father Brunelle Memorial Award in Computer Science – Gaven Cannon 

The Dr. Eugene W. Byrnes Scholarship in the Natural Sciences – Ngoc Nguyen

The Rosalind Franklin Award in Biotechnology – Julia Kenyon

The Mary Whiton Calkins Award in Psychology – Kaelyn Patch

The Community Service Learning Student of the Year – Megan Canney

The Special Award for Women’s Studies – Kathryn Cannistraro 

The Michele and Donald D’Amour Humanitas Award – Elaine Danas

The Medieval and Early Modern Studies Minor Award – Kolbe Bell

The William James Award in Psychology – Rachel Aucello 

The James McCarthy Scholarship for the Study of Economics or Global Studies – Tyler Provost

The Luca Pacioli Accounting Achievement Award – Katherine Ickes

The Shirley Thompson Scholarship in the Visual Arts – Alena Nguyen

The Colleen Ritzer Memorial Award – Kendra Smith

The Daniel L. Christianson Award for the Study of Foreign Languages – Chloe Scornavacca

The Omer & Laurette Boivin Scholarship in French or Foreign Languages – Isabela Ferullo

The George E. and Sarah Denomme Scholarship – Kassandra Carpentier 

The Cynthia Courtney and Adelard F. Landry Scholarship in French Studies – Madeline Snow

The Award for the Minor in French – Isabela Ferullo

The Leo and Madeleine Remillard Scholarship for the Study of French – Isabela Ferullo

The Minor in Italian Award – Thomas Lenaerts 

The Joseph E. Sheerin Merit Prize in the Study of Classical Languages and Literatures – Marcus Oliver

The Special Award in Public History – Clare Teskey

The History Department’s Ray Marion Special Award in World History – Catherine Hurlburt

The Ken Moynihan Special Award in American History – Adam Ide

The Paul Ziegler Award in European History – Madison Kenney

The Special Award in History and Citizenship – Joseph Vanacore

The Donec Formetur Christus Presidential Award

This special award, presented by President Greg Weiner, “is granted each year to a Junior or Senior whose life embodies the ideals of an Assumption education. The recipient has pursued in an exemplary manner the goals of Catholic liberal education, engaging in the pursuit of truth by means of both reason and faith, understanding at a deep level the relationship between the intellectual and the spiritual life.  In granting this award, the University recognizes the recipient for the contribution he or she has made to the institution and for the witness he or she gives, in both word and deed, to its mission and educational goals.”

Emily Fasteson