Assumption College students, faculty and staff who park on campus must have a valid Assumption College parking decal properly displayed in the lower left-hand corner of the windshield. Vehicles must be registered each year with the Department of Public Safety.
Visitors will find reserved spaces at the college, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Parking is available for sophomores, juniors, seniors, and graduate and continuing education students. First year resident students, however, are not permitted to have a vehicle on campus unless they can demonstrate a medical need.
The responsibility for finding a legal parking space rests on the vehicle's operator/person with the parking permit. Lack of space, mechanical problems, and inclement weather are not considered valid excuses for violation of parking regulations. Violation of parking regulations is subject to a citation. Possession or use of a lost, stolen, forged or altered parking permit or temporary permit will result in a fine equal to the amount to the value of the permit.
Things to remember:
- Visitor parking is reserved Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
- All roads are considered fire lanes and must be kept open for emergencies.
- All vehicles must be parked entirely within lined spaces. An improperly parked vehicle in an adjacent space does not constitute an excuse for straddling the painted line.
- Yellow lines in diagonal hash patterns indicate NO PARKING areas.
- Blocking access to building, stairs, walkways, loading zones, or fire lanes is not allowed.
- Parking is not allowed on grass or sidewalks.
- Any vehicle parked within 10 feet of a fire hydrant, obstructing a fire lane, or obstructing snow removal is subject to citation and the vehicle may be immediately towed off campus at the owner’s expense.
- Any vehicle abandoned, banned from campus, obstructing the free passage of vehicular traffic on any campus roadway or parking lot, or parked in delivery zones is subject to citation and the vehicle may be immediately towed off campus at the owner’s expense.
All fines are payable at the Cashiers Office in Alumni Hall.
|No Permit/Unauthorized Permit||$25|
|Fire Lane/Fire Hydrant||$25|
|Impeding Snow Removal/Snow Tow||$35|
|Speed Zone/Time Zone||$25|
|Operating on Walkway||$25|
|No Parking Area||$10|
|Stop Sign Violation||$25|
|Using Two Parking Spaces||$10|
Appeal of a citation issued for a violation must be made within seven days of the alleged offense. Appeals will not be honored after the seven day limit. All appeals will be reviewed by the Parking Appeals Committee.
Click the link below to download the appeals form or pick one up at the Department of Public Safety.
The Department of Public Safety is authorized to remove, impound or tow motor vehicles from campus at the owner’s expense under the following circumstances:
- Abandoned vehicles
- Illegally parked vehicles
- Blocking a fire lane or roadway
- Interfering with snow removal
- Vehicles banned from campus
The owner of the vehicle or the person the vehicle is registered to at the College is solely responsible for the towing and storage charges which are to be paid directly to the towing company. Neither the College nor the Department of Public Safety is responsible for any damages to the vehicle.
All out of state drivers who bring their vehicle into Massachusetts (resident on campus or off-campus) must complete a non-resident vehicle information form in accordance with Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90, Section 3. Any non-resident who fails to comply is subject to a fine of not more than $250. Out-of-state registration decals must be displayed on the center of the windshield behind the rear view mirror.
Motorcycles must also be registered with the Department of Public Safety and display a valid parking permit on the topside of the headlight. Motorcycles must be parked in designated parking spaces.
Temporary passes may be issued to drivers with a valid reason for no more than 14 days annually. Passes are issued at the Department of Public Safety and the vehicles Certificate of Registration must be presented. Temporary permits must be displayed on the vehicles dashboard.