Assumption Awards Scholarships to Form the Next Generation of Scholars and Leaders

Sep. 6, 2019
Office of Communications
Moynihan Winners

Assumption has announced the recipients of the inaugural Daniel Patrick Moynihan Scholarship, aimed at empowering the next generation of scholars and leaders while emphasizing the importance of the integration of political and intellectual life. The Daniel Patrick Moynihan Center for Scholarship and Statesmanship, launched in the summer of 2018, is an endeavor with national reach that will cultivate thoughtful citizens who are inspired by the late senator’s example to appreciate the link between ideas and action.  

The 2019 Scholarship recipients include Nathan Boudreau ’23 of Dulles, VA; Emma Marino ’23 of North Adams; Nicholas Morrissey ’23 of Beverly; and Abbigail Sullivan ’23 of Andover, MN. These students will be provided the opportunity to participate in the Daniel Patrick Moynihan Seminar in Washington, DC, a weeklong program in the summer of 2020 that invites student-scholars from around the country to discuss the late senator’s linkage between ideas and action with prominent political leaders and thinkers. They will also participate in reading groups and Moynihan Center activities throughout the academic year.

“Senator Moynihan is the most prominent example in recent American history of the tradition of the scholar-statesman that reaches back to Cicero, Edmund Burke, John Adams and James Madison,” said Greg Weiner, Ph.D., provost and academic vice president and director of the Moynihan Center at Assumption University. “Through this scholarship, these students will have the opportunity to help build, and become, a new generation of scholar-statesmen in the venerable tradition of which Senator Moynihan was an unparalleled exemplar.” 

Senator Moynihan was a renowned thinker and statesman who was heavily influenced by Catholic social thought. Sen. Moynihan attended Tufts University, where he received his doctorate, taught at Harvard University; served in the cabinet or sub-cabinet of Presidents Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon and Ford; and was elected to four terms in the United States Senate. He was the editor or author of 19 books and hundreds of scholarly essays.

The Moynihan Center is generously supported by the Thomas W. Smith Foundation and the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation.

The Daniel Patrick Moynihan Scholarship is awarded to incoming first-year students who are pursuing relevant majors and have demonstrated an interest in the subject matter. Scholarship recipients are chosen, and awarded up to $5,000 per year, with the hope that they will be inspired by the late senator’s example of working at the intersection of ideas and action. These students’ educational experience is enhanced through their involvement in the Daniel Patrick Moynihan Center and its many reading discussions and conferences held throughout the year.

More information on the Daniel Patrick Moynihan Center.