Monday, April 28, 2014 - 16:15

Assumption Students Awarded for Academic Excellence

Annual Honors Convocation Recognizes Academic Accomplishments of 67 Students

Assumption College honored 67 students with awards for academic excellence on April 14 during the 30th annual Honors Convocation. The ceremony was held on campus, in the Chapel of the Holy Spirit. Awards ranged from departmental honors to special recognitions, to Augustine Scholarships, the College’s highest academic honor.

"Each year, Assumption College takes on the difficult task of recognizing its most meritorious students in each of its major programs of study," said Academic Dean Eloise Knowlton, Ph.D. "To receive an award is to be named the best among peers in the field. Among so many excellent and excelling students, it is never an easy choice to make; to be named an honoree is a significant achievement."

The Augustine Scholarship is awarded to rising junior and senior students, who—through their academic achievement, leadership, community service and good character—best embody the Assumption College mission. Students nominated for this prestigious academic distinction have demonstrated initiative and leadership in academic and co-curricular endeavors, and are of demonstrably good character. Grade point average alone is not evidence of initiative and leadership, even in the academic arena. The following is a list of this year’s Augustine Scholars:

Caitlin Ackerman ’15, Nashua, N.H.
Kaitlyn Bouthillette ’15, North Providence, R.I.
Shaun Bradley ’15, Methuen, Mass.
Abigail Heroth ’15, Johnstown, N.Y.
Sandor Karz ’15, Lanesville, N.Y.
Meagan Kullberg ’15, Westborough, Mass.
Cassie Lincoln ’15, North Adams, Mass.
Shannon Martin ’15, Hooksett, N.H.
Elise Prayson ’15, Dayton, Ohio
Nicole Riel ’15, Belchertown, Mass.
Lea Rossi ’15, Merrimack, N.H.
Nicole Stantial ’15, Peabody, Mass.
Courtney Woods ’15, Tewksbury, Mass.
Megan Foley ’16, Sterling, Mass.
Andrew Lampi ’16, Westborough, Mass.
Kaitlin Riley ’16, Falmouth, Mass.


Geoffrey LaForce, a sophomore from Warwick, R.I., was the recipient of the Donec Formetur Christus Presidential Award for embodying the spirit of Assumption College. The award, announced by Assumption President Francesco Cesareo, Ph.D., recognizes a junior or senior whose life embodies the ideals of an Assumptionist education. The recipient understands the relationship between the intellectual and spiritual life, espouses the values of the Gospel in his or her life, and gives witness to the spirit of the Catholic intellectual tradition.


The following is a list of this year’s Departmental Award recipients:

Jordan Sweigart ’14, Reading, Mass.; accounting and economics
Sadiya Bruce ’14, Boston, Mass.; art history
Lauren Brown ’14, Sterling, Mass.; studio art and philosophy
Samantha Williams ’14, Burrillville, R.I.; biology
Katie Huling ’14, Sparkill, N.Y.; biotechnology and molecular biology
Devyn Oliver ’14, Blackstone, Mass.; biology with a concentration in neuroscience and behavior
Melanie Freitas ’14, Tyngsboro, Mass.; chemistry
Maura Corbett ’14, Rockland, Mass.; classics with a concentration in Greek, and English literature
Jessica Aubin ’14, Worcester, Mass.; classics with a concentration in Latin
Taylor Dimmick ’14, Sutton, Mass.; computer science
Jennifer Gargan ’14, Sutton, Mass.; elementary education and history
Katherine Jankun ’14, Braintree, Mass.; secondary education
Kathleen Wilbur ’14, Darmouth, Mass.; English and Mass Communications
Chelsie Sequin ’14, Coventry, R.I.; environmental science
Meghan Surette ’14, Readfield, Maine; French
Katherine Vachawski ’14, currently in Dublin, Ireland; global studies
Anna Szemiot ’14, Rutland, Mass.; graphic design
Katerina Reilly ’14, Wilmington, Mass.; Human Services and Rehabilitation Studies
Gabriella Marandino ’14, Granby, Conn.; Human Services and Rehabilitation Studies with a concentration in communication sciences and disorders
Justine DiDonato ’14, Eastchester, N.Y.; international business
Michael Smith ’14, Old Lyme, Conn.; management
Maureen Quirk ’14, Wakefield, Mass.; marketing
Michael Weselcouch ’14, East Haddam, Conn.; mathematics
Mary Craig ’14, Fredericton, Canada; political science
Katelyn (Lauren) Colburn ‘14, Concord, N.H., Mass.; psychology
Joshua McDuffie ’14, Spencer, Mass.; sociology with a concentration in criminology
Marie Theroux ’14, Charlestown, R.I.; Spanish
Thomas Elbourn III ’14, Gardner, Mass.; theology
Matthew Mariner ’14, Sutton, Mass.; theatre and television arts
Colleen Murphy ’15, Uxbridge, Mass.; organizational communication
Lea Rossi ’15, Merrimack, N.H.; music
Julianne Armstrong ’16, Peabody, Mass.; Italian Studies


The Omer & Laurette Boivin Scholarship in French or Foreign Languages: Erin Ziomek, a sophomore from Wilbraham, Mass.
The Father Richard Brunelle Memorial Award in Computer Science: Lucas Spina, a senior from Holliston, Mass.
The Dr. Eugene W. Byrnes Scholarship in the Natural Sciences: Hieu Nguyen, a junior from Rockland, Mass.
The Mary Whiton Calkins Award in Psychology: Peter Bui, a senior from Worcester.
The David L. Christianson Award for the Study of Foreign Languages: Carolina Santos, a sophomore from Lawrence, Mass.
The Cobalt Award in Studio Art: Sara Bonnick, a senior from Smithfield, RI.
The Community Service Learning Award: William Rein, a senior from Marshfield, Mass.
The C. Wright Mills Sociological Imagination Award: Nabil Tueme, a senior from Easton, Mass.
The George E. and Sarah Denomme Scholarship: Geoffrey LaForce, a sophomore from Warwick, R.I.
The Fortin and Gonthier Foundations of Western Civilization Award: Samantha Minieri, a senior from North Haven, Conn.
The William James Award in Psychology: Thomas Elbourn, a senior from Gardner, Mass.
The Cynthia Courtney and Adelard F. Landry Scholarship in French Studies: Kimberly Sysopha, a sophomore from Douglas, Mass.
The Award in Medieval and Early Modern Studies: Maura Corbett, a senior from Rockland, Mass.
The Ken Moynihan Award in American History: Michael Carpentier, a senior from Gardner, Mass.
The Luca Pacioli Accounting Achievement Award: John McVey, a senior from Milford, Mass.
The Leo and Madeleine Remillard Scholarship for the study of French: Elizabeth Kayitesi, a sophomore from Dorchester, Mass.
The Colleen Ritzer Memorial Award: Robert Flynn, a senior from Killingworth, Conn.
The Joseph E. Sheerin Merit Prize in the Study of Classical Languages and Literatures: Fiona Scougal, a sophomore from Leominster, Mass.
The Shirley Thompson Award for Excellence in the Visual Arts: Nguyen Tran, a junior from Worcester, Mass.
The Award in Women’s Studies with a North American Emphasis: Melissa McLain, a senior from Terryville, Conn.
The Award in Women’s Studies with a Global Emphasis: Kathleen Wilbur, a senior from Acushnet, Mass.
The Paul Ziegler Award in European History: Nichole Spilios, a senior from Bolton, Mass.


Kimberly Dunbar, Director of Public Affairs, Assumption College @AssumptionNews